NC PMI Chapter – February Session highlights

Electronic Sourcing session by Sidd Chopra- A major disappointment 

I attended the monthly chapter for NC PMI recently. This was my first . The chapter folks planned a session on ‘Electronic Sourcing’ session. Since, they did not provide any details on the website, against the event, I was expecting the session would be very relevant to Project Management and would probably cover the Procurement Management aspects. The speaker, Mr. Sidd Chopra, is a famous speaker in the triangle area and was also a former board member of the chapter. 

Surprisingly, the event turned out to be a ‘Sales Pitch’ for a procurement tool developed by his company. Many of my colleagues who were at the session were also surprised that the chapter allowed the speaker for a sales pitch for his product. It was really disappointing for me personally, as I was expecting a session on procurement and even global sourcing as the main focus of the topic. I have provided the same feedback to the chapter. I hope they would take cognizance of the feedback and avoid such situations in future.

Increase in No. of People in Transition and efforts to help by the chapter

I have been regularly attending the monthly chapter sessions as well as Special Interest Group (SIG) sessions recently. Once of the main objectives of the PMs attending the session is ‘Networking’. Prime reason for this is either people have lost jobs or on the verge of losing. One thing I have noticed is that the number of people raising hands when asked “How many of you are in transition?” has been increasing steadily, but alarmingly. This reflects the trend of worsening economy. I hope things get better soon.

The chapter is trying to help the PMs in transition to support and help them cope up with the situation. There was a session a couple of  weeks ago titled “Transition in Today’s Economy” by Doug Johnson. I found it to be a very good session. I will blog about some of the techniques that were highlighted in that session pretty soon.

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Venu Mallarapu

I am currently working as Director & Global Client Partner at Cognizant Technology Services in their Life Sciences division. I have over 19 years of experience in developing IT Solutions and Services, specifically for Life Sciences industry for over 13 years. I have worked with small to large pharma customers to address their business needs across R&D, Sales and Marketing and Manufacturing & Supply Chain areas. My passion is Pharma R&D. I blog and write about varied topics in Pharma Industry as well as latest Technology trends that impact Clinical Research and have also presented at various conferences and workshops on wide variety of related topics.

3 responses to “NC PMI Chapter – February Session highlights”

  1. Sidd says :

    I am sorry that you were disappointed with the presentation.

    We wanted to show you why it is best to use your purchasing organization.

    We talked about what it procurement is, why it is important, all the players and the complexity of the process and what you risk when you don’t use the correct process.

    Most PM’s in our chapter have procurement organizations.

    But for those that don’t, we explored the things you can do when you don’t have a procurement department and the panacea of using the internet. And then we showed you the project we have been working on.

    The system is NOT for sale. In fact the user agreement explicitly states:

    “This Web site is made available for your personal, non-commercial use only.”

    It is not open to the general public and there is no payment system.

    So it wasn’t intended to be a sales pitch as there is nothing to sell.

    But I am sorry you were disappointed.

    Please email me any questions you did not get answered.

    I will make every effort to give you the information you came for.

    Thanks

    Sidd

  2. vmallarapu says :

    Dear Sidd,

    Thank you for taking time to read and respond to my feedback on the session. I was not disappointed with either the presentation or the tool that you have demonstrated. However, I felt that the session was more focused on what the tool does and how an organization with out a procurement dept. can make use of it.

    However, I was expecting a more generic session where you would speak about the Procurement Process, Challenges, Best Practices and may be the Tools in the market space for Electronic Sourcing. Hence I was disappointed. I think it will good for the chapter to publish the Agenda or List of Topics that would be covered during the session, so that we can take a call on whether to attend or skip.

    Anyway, I did speak to you after the session as I was keen to know few more details regarding the tool. I will send you an email with the questions that we did not get to, during the session.

    Cheers,
    Venu.

  3. Sidd says :

    Hi Venu,

    I didn’t receive any questions from you.

    I just wanted to touch base with you to see if you got them answered.

    Thanks

    Sidd

Leave a Reply

