Hi there, Honey Bee…Who are you working for?

Time and Tide waits for none…

Many of us have read or heard this a lot of times. However, we go about doing our business like Honey Bees. That’s right, Honey Bees. Each of us in our own way “think” that we are working for our future. However, what we do not realize is that we are not enjoying the current moment to the fullest in the process of working for our future. The future that we so fervently work for, passes by, but we will not have time to realize that because we are working for future. Every second that we spend working for future is another second that we miss. 

That might have sounded crazy, but I have been reflecting on my work and personal life for the past 10 years. Work has been the epicenter of my world.I think it would be more justified to say that work has been my entire world. Everything else was secondary. I am ashamed  to say that  even my family, my financial future and everything that is considered my personal life was secondary. I expected and steered everything and all my closed ones to fall in line with this philosophy. 

Many of you might be thinking “That’s Me”. Wake up people. Wake up and think about what you are doing. I know the impending economic situation, job losses etc. would be motivating enough to bury yourself in work, more than ever. Stop and think where you would go for shelter, consolation and a few words of encouragement if you are down. My guess is your closed ones. Make sure you are giving enough water to that tree today so that you can expect it to give you enough shade when you are tired, beaten down and desperately need some help to rejuvenate and recharge to get back to work for your future.

I know all this might sound incoherent like Joaquin Phoenix, not the actor but the musician, on Dave Letterman. But, I think somewhere in there are a few questions that you should ask yourself.

  • Who are you working for?
  • When was the last time you had 8 hours of sleep?
  • When was the last time you have spent Sunday evenings, not thinking about your work on Monday?
  • When was the last time you have gone back home after work and never had to open your laptop to respond to emails that you could not catch up on during your work hours?
  • When was the last time you did not search for your Blackberry or laptop the moment you opened your eyes, early in the morning?

Happy Thinking 🙂 . Hope you get out of your depression pretty soon after reading  this post.

Cheers,

Venu.

Tags: ,

About Venu Mallarapu

I am currently working as Director & Global Client Partner at Cognizant Technology Services in their Life Sciences division. I have over 19 years of experience in developing IT Solutions and Services, specifically for Life Sciences industry for over 13 years. I have worked with small to large pharma customers to address their business needs across R&D, Sales and Marketing and Manufacturing & Supply Chain areas. My passion is Pharma R&D. I blog and write about varied topics in Pharma Industry as well as latest Technology trends that impact Clinical Research and have also presented at various conferences and workshops on wide variety of related topics.

2 responses to “Hi there, Honey Bee…Who are you working for?”

  1. Soumya says :

    Well Mr Mallarapu wake up, enjoy life. Go on a holiday with your family. Do something else that interests you besides work. Write, Paint, Travel. The world is your canvas.

  2. Sivaram says :

    OK…you are getting there….good going….my entire premise for my previous postings was based on this…happy life now, my brother from another mother…..

Leave a Reply

