Is Work-Life balance a mirage for modern day workforce?

I’m writing this while waiting for a flight to head out on a business trip. I will be gone for 5 days, away from home, loving wife and kids. It has been a hectic couple of months for me so far. Traveling, by nature has it’s advantages as it takes you places you might not have been before and opens doors to new people, cultures and experiences. However, at times, it also takes you away from your loved ones as well, which would be a hard thing to do often for many of us.

I guess travel is just one of many things that’s keeping people away from families. In the “new world” many things have changed in terms of how, when and where people work. With the advent of Internet and improved mobile computing experience, while people are getting things done at the speed of light, they are also compelled to take work where ever they go.

While that is the case, there are still many opportunities for people to work at managing their work – life balance. But given the fast, competitive and challenging world, I think it is getting harder and harder for people to be able to do that. I’m rooting and hoping for the day that would let me do all the work that I want to but still help me spend considerable time with the loved ones. I hope that day is not a mirage as I put it in the title of this post.

Tags: , ,

About Venu Mallarapu

I am currently working as Director & Global Client Partner at Cognizant Technology Services in their Life Sciences division. I have over 19 years of experience in developing IT Solutions and Services, specifically for Life Sciences industry for over 13 years. I have worked with small to large pharma customers to address their business needs across R&D, Sales and Marketing and Manufacturing & Supply Chain areas. My passion is Pharma R&D. I blog and write about varied topics in Pharma Industry as well as latest Technology trends that impact Clinical Research and have also presented at various conferences and workshops on wide variety of related topics.

Leave a Reply

