SharePoint in Life Sciences Value Chain

I was putting together a presentation for a session on “Enterprise Collaboration and Content Management” earlier this week. As part of the exercise I was making a list of point solutions, in each phase of the Life Sciences value chain, that can be developed using SharePoint. This sources for this list are various articles and publications, customer requests, actual applications that I have seen or delivered to customers and last but not the least, from my own brain. I thought of sharing the list here so it could be useful for some of you and might trigger your imagination on leveraging your SharePoint investments.

SharePoint in Life Sciences Value Chain

SharePoint in Life Sciences Value Chain

My intention is neither to say SharePoint will be a sophisticated solution for all the business needs mentioned above  nor that this list is exhaustive. I would like to argue that using SharePoint will definitely be an upgrade from age-old manual and/or paper based process which is still the norm in many organizations. For those who are skeptical about SharePoint being compliant with regulatory requirements like 21 CFR Part 11, I want you to know that it can be  “Validated”.  May be, that is a topic for another blog post in the future.

As always, your comments and feedback are welcome.

Tags: , , , ,

About Venu Mallarapu

I am currently working as Director & Global Client Partner at Cognizant Technology Services in their Life Sciences division. I have over 19 years of experience in developing IT Solutions and Services, specifically for Life Sciences industry for over 13 years. I have worked with small to large pharma customers to address their business needs across R&D, Sales and Marketing and Manufacturing & Supply Chain areas. My passion is Pharma R&D. I blog and write about varied topics in Pharma Industry as well as latest Technology trends that impact Clinical Research and have also presented at various conferences and workshops on wide variety of related topics.

Leave a Reply

